Instructions:

Click on the highlighted letter on the right to view words and definitions.


Research and Internet Aids

OSU Libraries


The Ohio State University The Ohio State University Libraries

Guides to the OSU Libraries

Library Language

[PDF version]


Go to: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

- A -

Abstract
a summary of an article or book.

[Go to Top of Page]


- B -

Bar Code
a small label of closely spaced bars that can be read by a computer. Barcodes on books and on your OSU ID are used to charge out books from the library.

Bibliography
a list of materials (books, articles, dissertations, etc.) on one subject or by one author. Sometimes this is found at the end of a book or an article; a long bibliography may be published separately as a book.

Bound periodicals
issues of magazines or journals arranged together under one hard cover.

[Go to Top of Page]


- C -

Call Number
a code of letters and numbers assigned to each library item to show its location on the library shelves. A call number is created by subject so materials on similar subjects will be located together.

Catalog
list of books, periodicals, and other items owned by a library. OSU Libraries use a computerized catalog, OSCAR, to show which items the Libraries have, where they are located and if they are available.

Check Out
to borrow library materials for use outside of the library.

Circulation
the library department that checks out and places materials on shelves as well as handles overdue fines and lost book charges.

Citation
the written information that identifies a book or article necessary to locate the item or to include as a reference in your paper. A citation usually includes information such as author, title, pages, and dates.

Closed Reserve
area in the Main Library Circulation Department and several other department libraries that holds and circulates heavily-used materials for short periods of time. Instructors may place materials for classes here so that these items are available to all students.

Controlled Vocabulary
words used as subject headings by a catalog or an index. Often these words are listed in a thesaurus where you can see terms for a topic before you start to use that catalog or index. The controlled vocabulary used by the OSU Libraries in Oscar is the Library of Congress Subjuect Headings.

Current Periodicals
recent issues of magazines or journals which have not yet been bound together.

[Go to Top of Page]


- D -

Database
an organized collection of records having a standardized format and content. For example, MEDLINE is a database of citations to medical writings.

Due date
the date when borrowed library materials should be returned or renewed.

[Go to Top of Page]


- E -


- F -

Fine
the amount of money which is owed by the borrower if library material in not returned when the book is recalled by the library.

[Go to Top of Page]


- G -


- H -


- I -

Index
a list of citations to articles and/or books, arranged by subject, by author, or by title.

Information Services
the department in Main Library where you can go for help with library research.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
the service that obtains materials from other libraries when an Ohio State user needs items not available in the Ohio State library system. Interlibrary Loan offices are located in Main Library and also in the Health Sciences and Law Libraries.

[Go to Top of Page]


- J -

Journal
a periodical published by an institution or professional society. It is more scholarly than a magazine and usually includes a bibliography at the end of articles.

[Go to Top of Page]


- K -


- L -

Library of Congress Classification
the system which divides knowledge into subject areas and corresponding call numbers and letters for library materials. Copies of the lists of LC Subject Headings are available in all OSU Libraries to help you find the best words to use to search the library catalog.

Location
where an item is kept in the library. OSU Libraries use 3-letter codes (such as BUS for Business Library) in the OSCAR catalog to show which library has the item.

[Go to Top of Page]


- M -

Microforms
a general term used for printed items which have been reduced in size. Microforms must be read by using special machines. Library staff are happy to show you how to use the machines.

[Go to Top of Page]


- N -

Non-circulating
materials that can be used only within the library and cannot by checked out.

[Go to Top of Page]


- O -


- P -

Periodicals
items with the same name that are published on a regular schedule. Magazines, journals, and newspapers are all periodicals, as are yearbooks, annual reviews, etc.

Periodical index
an alphabetical list of citations (usually arranged by subject or author) to articles in different periodicals. There are many periodical indexes covering all subject areas.

[Go to Top of Page]


- Q -


- R -

Reference
location in the library with materials and library personnel to help with your research. Reference materials are a special collection of items (dictionaries, encyclopedias, indexes to periodicals, etc.) which many people want to use and do not circulate. Reference can also be another term for a "citation."

[Go to Top of Page]


- S -

Serial
a publication which comes out in parts. Serials include periodicals, annual reports, almanacs, etc.

Stacks
the shelves where library materials are located.

Subject headings
words used in library catalogs and in indexes to describe the contents of a book, periodical, or individual article in a periodical. Catalogs and indexes use a controlled vocabulary for users to search for specific and general topics.

[Go to Top of Page]


- T -


- U -


- V -

Volumes
library materials which are part of the same title but are bound separately. Individual issues of a periodical bound together into a single book are called a "volume." Large books are sometimes divided into two or more volumes.

[Go to Top of Page]


- W -


- X -


- Y -


- Z -

[Go to Top of Page]

Research and Internet Aids | OSU Libraries

URL = http://www.lib.ohio-state.edu/guides/liblanggd.html
Last Update: 3/27/03, The Library Instruction Office

Comments to:
Fred Roecker, Library Instruction, (roecker.1@osu.edu)

All guides are ©2003. All rights reserved