Introduction
This guide is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association,
5th ed. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001). Reference
list items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. In-Text
citations are noted in the body of the paper.
For additional examples, please consult the
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. available in the reference
collections of many OSU Library locations (call number BF76.7 .P83 2001) or refer to the
Frequently Asked Questions on the APA Web site.
Please note:
APA now uses
hanging indent formatting in the reference list. For In-Text
direct quotes, add page numbers: e.g, (Komisar, 1991, p. 13)
Books (One author)
Reference:
Kmoisar, L. (1991).
The new feminism. New York:
Franklin Watts.
In-text:
(Komisar, 1991, p. 201)
Books (Two to three authors)
Reference:
Strunk, W., Jr., & White, E.B. (1979).
The elements of style (3rd ed.).
New York: Macmillan.
In-text (Two authors):
(Strunk & White, 1979, p.43)
In-text (Three or more authors):
(Strunk, White, & Smith, 1979, p.43)
Books (Corporate author)
Reference:
Ohio State University. Natural Resources Institute (1959).
A directory
of Ohio facilities and services for resource conservation.
Columbus, OH: Natural Resources Institute.
In-text:
(Ohio State University Natural Resources Institute, 1959, p. 33)
Book Chapter
Reference:
Roll, W.P. (1976). ESP and memory. In J.M.O. Wheatley & H.L. Edge (Eds.),
Philosophical dimensions of parapsychology (pp. 154-184).
Springfield, IL: American Psychiatric Press.
In-text:
(Roll, 1976, p. 161)
Journal Article (One author)
Reference:
Maki, R.H. (1982). Categorization effects which occur in comparative judgment
tasks.
Memory & Cognition, 10, 252-264.
In-text:
(Maki, 1982, p. 260)
Journal Article (Two authors)
Reference:
Atkinson, R.C., & Shiffrin, R.M. (1971). The control of short-term memory
Scientific American, 225, 82-90.
In-text:
(Atkinson & Shiffrin, 1971, p.87)
Magazine Article (No author)
Reference:
The blood business (1992, September 11).
Time, 97, 47-48.
In-text:
("Blood Busines," 1992, p. 47)
Magazine Article (One author)
Reference:
Kandel, E.R. (2000, November 10). Neuroscience: Breaking down scientific
barriers to the study of brain and mind.
Science, 290,
1113-1120.
In-text:
(Kandel, 2000, p. 1119)
Encyclopedia Article
Reference:
Warren, S.A. (1977). Mental retardation and environment. In
International encyclopedia
of psychiatry, psychology, psychoanalysis, and neurology
(Vol. 7, pp. 202-207). New York: Aesculapius Publishers.
In-text:
(Warren, 1977, p. 204)
Newspaper Article
Reference:
Amazing Amazon region. (1989, January 12).
New York Times, pp. D11, D14.
In-text:
("Amazing Amazon Region," 1989, p. D11)
ERIC Document
Reference:
Mead, J.V. (1992).
Looking at old photographs: Investigating the teacher tales
that novice teachers bring with them. (Report No. NCRTL-RR-92-4).
East Lansing, MI: National Center for Research on Teacher Learning.
(ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED346082).
In-text:
(Mead, 1992)
Electronic Journal Article
Reference:
Vanden, G., Knapp, S., & Doe, J. (2001). Role of reference elements in the selection
of resources by psychology undergraduates. [Electronic version].
Journal of Bibliographic Research, 5, 117-123.
In-text:
(Vanden et al., 2001, p. 120)
Electronic Article (From Database)
Reference:
Jacobson, J.W., Mulick, J.A., & Schwartz, A.A. (1995). A history of facilitated
communication: Science, pseudoscience, and antiscience.
American
Psychologist, 50, 750-765. Retrieved from PsychINFO database.
In-text:
(Jacobson et al., 1995, p. 755)
ERIC Document (From Database)
Reference:
Mead, J.V. (1992).
Looking at old photographs: Investigating the teacher tales
that novice teachers bring with them. (Report No. NCRTL-RR-92-4).
East Lansing, MI: National Center for Research on Teacher Learning.
(ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED346082). Retrieved from ERIC
(Educational Resources Information Center) database.
In-text:
(Mead, 1992)
Web Site
Reference:
Thaller, M. (2007).
Cool cosmos. Retrieved August 27, 2007 from
http://coolcosmos.ipac.caltech.edu/.
In-text:
(Thaller, 2007)
To view other electronic or Internet citations, see net.Tutor Quick Guide: Citing Net Sources.
Updated: 7/21/08, sam